Welcome
Κάθε έξοδος είναι είσοδος κάπου αλλού !

Μαθηματικά

Re: Μαθηματικά

Δημοσίευσηby negentropist » Κυρ Ιούλ 27, 2014 12:46 pm

The extraordinary story of how in 1914 the self-taught maths genius SRINIVASA RAMANUJAN was brought from Madras to Trinity College, Cambridge, by the great English pure mathematician GH Hardy, who called their relationship 'the one truly romantic episode of my life'.

Εικόνα
Άβαταρ μέλους
negentropist
Site Admin

Δημοσίευσηby negentropist » Πέμ Νοέμ 27, 2014 9:44 pm

Εικόνα

In the End, It All Adds Up to – 1/12 !!!

By Dr. Tony Padilla

What do we get if we sum all the natural numbers?

The answer we gave was, to the surprise of many I'm sure, −1/12.

It's by no means obvious, but this is the only sensible value one can attach to this divergent sum. Infinity is not a sensible value. In my opinion, as a physicist, infinity has no place in physical observables, and therefore no place in Nature. David Hilbert, one of the founding fathers of quantum mechanics, described infinity as "a mathematical abstraction that does not have a physical content". I think most physicists would firmly agree with this sentiment. The trouble is that divergent sums like the one we discuss in the video do appear in calculations of physical observables, such as the Casimir energy, or in the dimensionality of the Universe in bosonic string theory. Therefore, only a very brave individual would dream of attaching the value infinity to sums like this. Minus a twelfth is far less crazy a value when you start talking about Physics.

Why -1/12 is a gold nugget ?

8-)
Άβαταρ μέλους
negentropist
Site Admin

Δημοσίευσηby negentropist » Πέμ Απρ 09, 2015 1:15 am

0-D: Just a point. No width, no height, no depth, no duration. (i.e. A point) 1 static variable

1-D: A line. No height, no depth, no duration. (i.e. A line) 1 variable with change/adjustment

2-D: A plane. No depth, no duration. (i.e. A square) 2 variables

3-D: A space. No duration. (i.e. A cube) 3 variables